Roasted Red Pepper Goodness

I have a cold. The kind of cold that makes your sinuses throb, your head feel too heavy for your shoulders, and your eyes feel heavy and sore. I don’t often get colds, so I’m kind of a whiny wuss about them when I do. Chef Husband and Mr Man had it last week whilst on vacation. This week, my turn. As long as Miss A doesn’t get it we’ll be all good (though she’s probably the best in the house at handling colds truth be told).

Anyway, yesterday I wanted soup. I looked up some recipes and decided I was going to make my own. It turned out amazing. It was the perfect combination of roasty and spicy and soothing. You should probably all make it.

This recipe is gluten-free, vegan, and soy free. At the end (as you can see in the picture) I added a dollop of sour cream, but when I eat leftovers today, I full plan on not adding said dollop making it vegan once again.

Without further ado, I give you soup.

And here’s how to make it:

1 jar of roasted red peppers (or you can make your own)
1 large yellow onion
1 tbsp dried basil
1 tsp thyme
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 very small celeriac (enough for about 1/4 cup when chopped) or you can use celery
2 cups vegetable broth
5 cloves of garlic

Chop up the celeriac, onion and garlic. You don’t need to make this pretty. It’ll be blended at the end anyway.

In a pot, add a bit of olive oil then saute celeriac, onion and garlic over medium heat until a) the garlic smells good and b) the onion is clear-ish.

Roughly cut the red pepper and add to the pot.

Add the vegetable broth, and stir. Add in all the herbs and stir again. Bring to a boil and let simmer for about 15-20 minutes.

Turn off the heat and remove the soup. You then want to blend it. I used a hand blender, but if you want it more smooth, you might want to use a blender. The hand blender leaves it a little more textured than smooth but it’s still awesome.

And voila. I added a dollop of sour cream which you can do if you want at serving, and I served it (to myself) with some sweet potato chips for dipping. I have this love of dipping into soup and give I live in a saltine-free world now, sweet potato chips solved that dilemma for me.

This is a really quick and easy soup to make – perfect for this house! It made me feel warm and lovely inside too and for a moment, I even forgot I had a cold. Then I breathed.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. healthygirlandthecity
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:28:39

    thanks for the recipe! i’m definitely going to have to try this at some point – love a good soup!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

