You get the class you need..

You don’t always get what you want… but you get what you need”

It all started with the Rolling Stones.

And then I re-learned it with pregnancies and birth. My midwife for my second child said to me that I won’t necessarily get the birth I want, but I’ll get the birth I need.

Even then I saw it was applicable to my first birth. A month early, I went into labour with Mr Man. Three days before a scheduled external inversion to attempt to turn my footling breech baby he was born. Turns out that he had not only his feet stuck resulting in club feet, but also the cord wrapped around his neck – something that would have meant an emergency c-section when he went into distress during the version.

And then with Miss A, I went for a homebirth. Instead I got a 44 hour labour with eventual hospital transfer (by car) and help with forceps and vacuum. BUT, I had a VBAC (Vaginal Birth After Cesarean).

I got the births I needed.

And every time I walk into the yoga studio, I end up getting the class I need.

If you might recall (catch up on days 1-2 here, days 3-6 here), I was feeling very raw and exhausted. Mr Man had been hurt on the Sunday which is where we begin:

Day 7:
Studio 1: Yoga Flow – Donna
Studio 2: Yin Flow – Heidy

Weekends are for restoration for me. I was all over the Yin. Yin yoga is one of my favourites. It’s the one I do at home the most frequently, and the one that I find to be the most relaxing. Yin involves holding poses for long periods of time – usually 2-5 minutes but sometimes even long. You get right into the tissues of your body (because you know, the issues are in your tissues). What you can hold for a short time in a flow class, you hold for a long time in a yin class and may not be able to go as “deep” for such a long period of time. We did some great hip poses and I loved it – Heidy was delightful and I think it’s the first class I’ve taken from her. She was sweet and made us think, while leading us into poses that don’t often get covered – like the dragon series. I left feeling rejuvenated.

And then Mr Man got hurt later that morning. And I lost that rejuvenation and all my energy went directly into him. Lots of reiki and snuggles later he peacefully slept that night.

Monday I got up feeling very vulnerable. And that led to..

Day 8:
Studio 1: Chakra Yoga Flow – Isabelle
Studio 2: Yoga Flow – Sean

I love Chakra yoga flow. But the lottery system started today. When you come in, you draw a cube with numbers on it and that tells you which studio you go to. My cube led me to studio 2 which of course, was what I needed. Sean focussed on “Inhale. Exhale. Let go.” Could it have been any more perfect? Sometimes when I’m in a yoga class I secretly wonder if the instructor can scan our brains and create a theme or class around that. I spent the class letting go, and chatting with Sean after he reminded me to carry that through my day. I remember the class being strong and my legs working hard, but truthfully, I don’t remember the class itself. I remember that I learned to breathe and let go. That’s what I needed.

The afternoon of Monday we saw the dentist who gave us good news about Mr Man’s injury in that it would likely heal within about a month. He will need further x-rays and monitoring of his teeth, but it could have been so, so so so so so so much worse.

I was exhausted Monday. I read to my boy and fell asleep before 8:30. Tuesday I was ready for…

Day 9:
Studio 1: Vinyasa Flow – Jaya
Studio 2: Yin Yang Flow – Angela

Oh Vinyasa flow. The flow that ignites fear and excitement within. It’s a very strong class where you often do flow with your breath in sequences you would never think of. Jaya spoke of gratitude. Again, could it have been more fitting? I was so grateful for Mr Man’s health, and for everything really – my ability to take part in this challenge, the health and happiness of my family, the friends I surround myself with. It was a tough class. I went into child’s pose on more than a couple of occasions to rest, but I did a lot of the flow sequences also. My legs were sore from Monday’s class, but I went for it. Tuesdays I have to leave early, so right around 7:05 I went into some floor twists and then a mini 2 minute sivasana on my own. I left feeling exuberant. I needed that.

Then last night, I stayed up too late (10:00pm..), and Mr Man slept horribly, ended up in bed with us, and neither I nor Chef Husband slept much after 3am. The last thing I wanted to do this morning was get out of bed. I almost didn’t. But I convinced myself it would be worth it because whatever class I took, I would get something from it and it would be okay.

So I dragged my tush out of bed…

Day 10 One third of the way through!!!
Studio 1: Akhanda Flow – Donna
Studio 2: Vinyasa Flow – Heidy

I pulled a 2. Of course I did. Who wouldn’t want to do Vinyasa 2 days in a row? I was exhausted from no sleep, sore from intense classes Monday and Tuesday, and yet I went for it. Heidy was fantastic. Her theme was love and her quote from the end (which I wrote in the dark in my journal twice- the first time I wrote the second line over the first because I couldn’t see! ) “You don’t need to give when you have love, but you will never love without giving.” Think about that. Meditate on it. Be giving and loving and likely, you will have happiness. I loved how bubbly Heidy was this morning. She made us laugh, she assured us that we could rest any time we wanted, and then she kicked our asses. Flow sequences I’ve never done before, core work, so many leg balances. When we got to the floor we tried to lift off with an arm balance. Heidy demoed it and literally the class laughed. Her legs moved around in the air with complete control while she balanced on the ground. I will say though, I got my hips off the ground for the first time ever. My legs still stayed in place, but serious progress! I had the pleasure of chatting with Heidy after class and it was the perfect start to my day. I obviously needed it.

The lottery system and really putting yourself out there and going to any yoga class, fitness class, meditation group, church, anything – it usually ends that you will learn something. It will teach you something small if you let it, and you can carry that through the rest of your day, week, month, year. Let yourself get what you need, not necessarily what you want.

 

Leave a Reply

