Halloween Allergy Style

Halloween is always a scary time for those of us with food sensitive children. That said, Halloween is a time where I am reminded constantly of how proud I am of my children.

Yesterday was the first time they had a Halloween party at school with both of them being celiac. Mr Man had one last year, but his class was nut free and he still ate wheat then.

I was nervous. Really nervous. I texted Runner Girl about my nervousness. She reminded me that I have smart kids who know what they can and can’t eat. And so I talked to them and talked to them and prayed that it would all be okay. As a parent of allergic children there’s this fine line where you want your children to be able to participate in events like all the other kids, but you want them to be safe and secure. Sometimes that means keeping them home, or making hard decisions. But yesterday I let them go.

And they wowed me. Mr Man had asked me to send him with cheese and crackers. He knew that the cheese and cracker plate would be off-limits for him – he knew he couldn’t eat the cheese if it was on the same plate (I learned today that the brilliant parents sent cheese strings individually wrapped which avoided cross contamination). He ate the plate of cheese and crackers I brought him and was even too full to bring the cupcake I had brought!

Miss A also ate cheese and crackers I sent her (we did a special treat of dairy for her birthday) and also ate the cupcake. They ate a couple of veggies from the platter that was brought in but other than that they stuck to their own food. And they were fine. They told the parent volunteers that they had to be careful. One of the parent volunteers in Mr Man’s class informed me today that she was really impressed with how diligent Mr Man was. Makes me proud.

Last night they went out trick or treating. Now, we live in Alberta. Cold Alberta. Snowy Alberta. We had snow on the ground and it was below freezing for the Halloween night. The kids braved the elements with their snowsuits under their costumes and headed out. For 2 full hours. They came back once midway, dumped their candy on the floor and started sorting. Smarties, twizzlers and reese anything immediately went into the hand-out bowl. I worked on the other stuff – the oh henry’s, the mars, the coffee crisp and nestle crunch (both of which went into Chef Husband’s bowl), the jolly rancher chewies. If it didn’t have ingredients on it, it went into the hand out bowl. While I was sorting kids came to the door. Mr Man asked each kid if they had any allergies and if they didn’t, he’d dump a whole lot of gluten and nut filled candy into their bag. If they did, he grabbed from our allergy-safe bowl. He’s 6.5 and I was so proud.

I maintain that raising your children to be their own advocates is key. Teaching them what they can and can’t eat needs to be at the forefront. As much as we want to, we can’t protect our children without their help. Knowing that my children are so cognizant of their allergies and aware of their limitations makes me feel like I’m doing a good job. I’ve said it a few times in this post but I will say it again: I’m so proud of both of my kids.

(In fact, as I was typing this, Mr Man who stayed home from school today pulled out Nibs from his candy bag and said “moooooommm! You left these in my bag! I can’t eat these!” and put them aside.)

Happy Halloween!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Celiac and Allergy Adventures
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 17:44:47

    I agree! I had food allergies from a very,very young age (back when it wasn’t common) and I quickly learned what I could and couldn’t eat. Learning so young, it was drilled into me that I had to speak up for myself and advocate for myself. It will make it so much easier on them when they’re older!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

