Hold the peanut butter cookies!

I used to love peanut butter cookies. They had to have the double fork cross for them to be true pb cookies to me, but man alive I loved eating them. For my bridal shower my maid of honour even made some that had no dairy and eggs (I was off both at the time) and they were amazing.

But now, peanut butter is out. Not only does Mr Man have a severe allergy, Chef Husband and Miss A hate peanut butter. The last few times I’ve tried to eat peanut butter I’ve become quite ill so I’m avoiding it as well.

That sort of puts a damper on double fork cross peanut butter cookies.

But wait!

Sunbutter you say?

Hell yes!

For those of you not familiar with Sunbutter, it is so good. It’s made from Sunflower seeds and is delicious. You do need to stir it up a bit or by the time you get to the bottom it’s a bit dry.

Miss A is quite sick. She’s got the flu and isn’t eating very much, nor sleeping. She spends her nights awake coughing and at this point, anything she puts in her mouth has to have some sort of value.

Enter Sunbutter cookies. Do they have sugar? Yep, they do. But they also have sunbutter which has protein. So I figure why not.

I wanted a cookie that was easy to make and was completely grain free. And these came out amazing if I do say so. It also involves my favourite process – dump and mix.

Ingredients:
1 cup of sunbutter
1 cup of organic cane sugar
1 free range organic egg

Directions:
Dump everything into a mixing bowl.
Using a fork, mix it up really well. Feel free to dance around while mixing.
Using a medium cookie scoop (or a big spoon), make a dozen cookies – spread them out so there is at least an inch between each cookie on the pan. You may want to use parchment paper.
Using a fork, press them down lightly one way, then cross and go the other way. This step is vital. Don’t skip it.
Bake at 350 for 15 minutes.
Let cool for 5 minutes then transfer to a wire rack.
Eat 3 at a time. They’re that good.

2012-12-10 11.46.56

Now stop reading and go bake! But be sure to come back to let me know how they turned out!

Leave a Reply

