Fingerless Gloves – FREE PATTERN!

So it’s been at least a decade since I last posted anything (or really, maybe 6 months), but that’s what happens when life takes over.

I’m still teaching yoga (you can find my current schedule here), still cooking gluten free goodness, and dabbling in the world of vegetarianism. More like flexitarianism but eh.

In my spare time (ha!), I crochet and knit. And I’ve started making my own patterns which I’m going to start posting for the world to share. I don’t like paying for patterns so mine will always be free. You can sell anything you make from the patterns, but I’d love some credit. And finally, please don’t post my pattern and claim it as your own. That’s just really not cool.

Anyway, on to fingerless gloves. I love them. I wear them when I crochet and knit because my hands get really cold, but somehow wearing the fingerless gloves, they stay warm. These work up super fast and of course you can change them to make them your own. You can make the ribbing longer, you can add more rows at the top to make them go higher up. I made my first pair striped, but you can make them solid colours too!

Without further ado:

Supplies Needed:
Worsted weight yarn (about 100yds)
H hook (5.0mm)

Abbreviations:
ch – chain
ss – slip stitch
sc – single crochet
hdc – half double crochet

Cuff:
Ch 11
Row 1: hdc in 2nd ch and remaining (10)
Image
Rows 2-14: hdc in back loops only (10)

Join using a slip stitch to first row to create the cuff (it helps if you use just the back loops of row 12 to keep it looking ribbed).

Turn your work so the cuff is now at the bottom and continue with the hand.
Image

Hand:

The hand is worked around joining each row. This helps with colour changes to look smoother. Join each row to the first ch using a ss.

Row 1: Ch 1 and evenly sc 27 around (this forms the base of the hand). Join with a slip stitch.

If you’ve made mittens before, then you’ll know about making a thumb gusset. That’s essentially what we’re going to do here:
Row 2: Ch 2, hdc in first stitch, 2 hdc in next 2 stitches, hdc remaining. (29)
Row 3: ch 2, hdc around (29)
Row 4: ch 2, hdc in first stitch, 2hdc in next, hdc in 3rd, 2hdc in next, hdc remaining (31)
Row 5: ch 2, hdc around (31)
Row 6: ch 2, hdc in first stitch, 2hdc in next, hdc in 3rd, 4th and 5th, 2hd in 6th, hdc remaining. (33)
Row 7: ch 2, hdc around (33)
Row 8: ch 2, 2hc in 1st stitch, skip next 7 stitches, 2hdc in next, hdc remaining (28)
Image
Row 9-14: ch 2, hdc around (28)
Row 15: ch 2, 2hdctog, hdc 8, 2hdctog, hdc 8, 2hdctog, hdc 6 (25)

Finish off and weave in ends. Turn inside out and wear proudly!

Image

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Martha
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 23:18:40

    Love your pattern. Just finished making a pair in burgundy. There is an error in your pattern. You have round 7 twice. One round is worked even and the other one is worked to make the thumb hole.

    Reply

  2. Judy Young
    Oct 26, 2017 @ 15:05:07

    These are so cute. Just starting a pair now. Thanks for the pattern which I found on Ravelry 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

