fancy everyday beanie

Well let’s be honest. I’m pretty brutal at posting but I have a new post and a new pattern for you!

The Fancy Everyday Beanie is a quick and easy crochet and looks super awesome!

photo 6

Materials:
Worsted weight yarn
I hook (5.5)

Notes:

I work in the round joining each round to the next with a slip stitch. I chain 2 at the beginning and hdc in the same stitch. This creates a bit of a hidden seam.

Directions:

Magic Circle 8 hdc
Row 2: 2hdc in each stitch (16)
Row 3: *2hdc in first stitch, hdc in next*, repeat from * to * around (24)
Row 4: *2hdc in first stitch, hdc in next 2*, repeat from * to * around (32)
Row 5: *2hdc in first stitch, hdc in next 3*, repeat from * to * around (40)
Row 6: *2hdc in first stitch, hdc in next 4*, repeat from * to * around (48)
Row 7: *2hdc in first stitch, hdc in next 5*, repeat from * to * around (56)
Row 8: *2hdc in first stitch, hdc in next 6*, repeat from * to * around (64)
Row 9-12: hdc around (64)
Row 13: ch 3, dc in same stitch. *skip 2, in next stitch 2dc, ch1, 2dc*, repeat around until 3 stitches left. IN last stitch 2dc ch 2, slip stitch to 3rd chain in starting.
Row 14: hdc around (64) *Note that in order to get 64 around you basically need to not hdc in the chains.
Row 15: Repeat row 13.
Row 16: hdc around (64)
Row 17-19: sc around (64)

Feel free to add a flower, or a skull, or some other funky addition to the hat!

photo 4photo 5

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa M
    Nov 09, 2014 @ 17:21:31

    Having a bit of a problem with row 14, hdc all the way around but not in the chains. Abit confused.

    Reply

    • lifelearningmama
      Jan 21, 2015 @ 12:57:24

      My apologies for the late reply! I somehow didn’t get notified!

      If you hdc in the chains you’ve created for row 13, you will end up with wayyyyyy more than 64 stitches. So you skip the chains from row 13.

      Reply

  2. Karen C
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 21:20:44

    Please help I cannot figure out rows13 and 14. Maybe I have too many shells for row 13 I counted 21 shells.

    Reply

    • lifelearningmama
      Jan 21, 2015 @ 12:59:57

      Hi Karen!
      My apologies for the late reply. I count 21 shells as well. Perhaps I need to relook at my instructions! My apologies and thank you for pointing it out!
      I would do 3 hdc for every shell. This will give you 63 stitches and then do one more at the end.
      Does that help?
      Amanda

      Reply

  3. Christine Christian
    Aug 15, 2016 @ 18:59:02

    Very confused with row 13 and 14 as well. Doing 3 in each shell would work but how would you space them out? How did you get it to work out in the first place?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

