Yoda Hat Pattern

I had really wanted to make my little man a yoda hat. Mostly because he kept asking me for one. I searched and search and although there are some fantastic patterns out there, I just didn’t find one that I liked. So I made my own. And I’m SUPER happy with how it turned out. I’m all for making my patterns free so here we go!

This hat in specific fits roughly a 5-10 year old but you can use the ears on any size hat!

FullSizeRender (1)

Materials Needed:
Bulky weight yarn (number 5) – About 140-150 yards.
J (6.0) hook
Needle

Directions:

Hat:
Magic Ring – make 7 hdc in magic ring (7)
(*If you don’t know how to make a magic ring, then ch 2 and hdc 7 in the 2nd chain from hook.)
Join with a ss.
At the beginning of every row I ch2 and start my first stitch in the same stitch as the ch2. At the end of every row I slip stitch to the first stitch. This creates an invisible seam – or more invisible than other ways anyway!
Row 2: ch 2, 2hdc in each stitch (14)
Row 3: ch 2, *2 hdc in first stitch, hdc in next stitch*. Repeat from * to * around. (21)
Row 4: ch 2, *2 hdc in first stitch, hdc in next 2 stitches*. Repeat from * to * around (28)
Row 5: ch 2, *2 hdc in first stitch, hdc in next 3 stitches*. Repeat from * to * around (35)
Row 6: ch 2, *2 hdc in first stitch, hdc in next 4 stitches.* Repeat from * to * around (42)
Row 7: ch 2, *2 hdc in first stitch, hdc in next 5 stitches.* Repeat from * to * around (49)
Row 8-16: ch 2, hdc around (49)
Row 17: ch 1, sc around (49)
Fasten off and weave in ends.

Ears (make 4):

FullSizeRender

sc dec = sc decrease – insert hook into first stitch, pull yarn through, insert hook into second stitch, pull yarn through, yarn over and pull through all 3 stitches.
I ch 1 at the beginning of each row but it does not count as the first stitch.
Ch 8
Row 1: sc in 2nd ch from hook and in each across (7)
Row 2: sc across (7)
Row 3: sc in first 3, 2sc in next, sc in last 3 (8)
Row 4: sc in first 4, 2sc in next, sc in last 3 (9)
Row 5-7: sc across (9)
Row 8: sc in first, sc dec, sc across (8)
Row 9: sc across (8)
Row 10: sc in first, sc dec, sc across (7)
Row 11: sc in first, sc dec, sc across (6)
Row 12: sc in first, sc dec, sc across (5)
Row 13: sc in first, sc dec, sc across (4)
Row 14: sc in first, sc dec, sc across (3)
Row 15: sc in first, sc dec(2)
Row 16: sc dec (1)

Finish off.

Take 2 ears and place them back to back. Starting at the bottom right corner, sc all the way around the ear making sure you are going through both ears. This makes the ears thicker and sturdier so that they don’t flop all over the place.

Once you get to the bottom left corner, leave a long tail (about a foot) to use to sew on to hat.

Repeat with the other 2 ears.

Place the ears on each side (I sewed on my ears between rows 8-13) and sew on to hat. Feel free to put a bit of a curve into the ears.

Sew in all the ends and voila! Yoda!

Please feel free to sell anything made from this pattern but please DO NOT sell the pattern as your own or copy it unless you have written permission from me. If you are selling on etsy or somewhere else, I would love a link back to my pattern.

Don’t hesitate to ask me any questions or let me know if something isn’t clear!

Happy hooking!

IMG_2689

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kathrynpless1
    Nov 29, 2014 @ 13:17:03

    What a super cute idea! Thanks so much for sharing it and putting it on Raverly.

    Reply

  2. Lena
    Nov 13, 2015 @ 10:16:19

    Thank you!
    I followed your pattern last night and am thrilled with the results!

    Reply

  3. Lilia
    Nov 25, 2015 @ 19:44:07

    Thank you for this! Do you count the chain as a stitch in each row?

    Reply

  4. Lora
    Jan 03, 2016 @ 07:54:37

    For the ears you have
    (Row 5-8: sc across (9)
    Row 8: sc in first, sc dec, sc across)
    Should it be row 5-7?

    I’m confused 🙂

    Reply

  5. Gloria Cormier
    Jan 28, 2020 @ 15:21:28

    I would love to copy your pattern as I crochet funny hats for the pregnancy center here in Moncton NB to help the new mothers

    Reply

  6. Sandee hart
    Nov 02, 2020 @ 16:42:41

    Hi. So cute. Where did you buy your yarn. I tried hobby lobby and it’s looks too minty.

    Reply

  7. lifelearningmama
    Nov 04, 2020 @ 10:43:41

    I got mine at Michael’s!

    Reply

Leave a comment